Skip to main content

Trio Apaches

Piano Trio
Tuesday 2nd April, 2019 at 7:30pm

Trio Apaches makes a welcome return to Nairn.  The group was officially formed by Matthew Trusler, Thomas Carroll and Ashley Wass, each of whom has an outstanding solo career, at the 2012 Lincolnshire International Chamber Music Festival.  It all began because they had such a good time together both on and off stage.

The Trio is named after an innovative and often controversial group of Parisian-based artists which formed around 1900.  Its members included the composers Ravel, Stravinsky and Manuel de Falla, as well as painters, poets and music critics of the day.  The group adopted the name after they'd inadvertently bumped into a newspaper seller who exclaimed "Attention les apaches!", and they embraced it as an appropriate representation of their revolutionary spirit.


Ravel Piano Trio in A minor
Rachmaninov Piano Trio No. 1
Saint-Saens Danse Macabre
Debussy La Mer

Venue & Arrangements

Nairn Community & Arts Centre
69 King Street
IV12 4BQ

Forthcoming Events

event image
Fitzroy Quartet
String Quartet